New Focus, Same Direction

We cannot control the direction we travel in… we are moving through the small number of days we have been gifted with on this earth in our current physical manifestation.  The end is absolute, and inescapable..

However, we do have the ability to “tilt the board”, guiding our marble onto parallel paths. Some take greater effort than others, while still more are bumpy, or smooth.

Tilt positively, and balance continually, for best results

Tilt positively, and balance continually, for best results

It’s easy to become complacent with our path, to become lazy.. Living in a first world country, we want for very little in the ways of survival needs, and this lets our mind get weak.

I get bad cases of the winter blahs, and even my trusty Phillips goLITE BLU sometimes isn’t enough to get me out of bed in the morning.. I’m solar powered, and certain dark winter days make it next to impossible to get myself up and going.

This blog always gives me the power of perseverance in times when I need it most.. I’ve made some amazing Twitter connections lately, and an old friend has drifted back into town as well.. someone with a very accomplished research history with Buddhism and similar eastern philosophies.

I have refocused my Twitter account, which I use to share positive messages, (as well as to gripe about the obscene amount of snow we get in Ottawa sometimes! Don’t think its all roses!) to reflect the Shoshin state of my mind.

Shoshin means Beginner Mind, and i t refers to having an attitude of openness, eagerness, and lack of preconceptions when studying a subject, even when studying at an advanced level, just as a beginner in that subject would. (wiki)

Kanji for Shoshin, comprised of Sho meaning "first time; beginning" and Shin, meaning "heart; mind; spirit"

Kanji for Shoshin, comprised of Sho meaning “first time; beginning” and Shin, meaning “heart; mind; spirit”

What is really great about this concept is that even a Zen teacher like Shunryu Suzuki who by all rights could be considered somewhat of an experienced Master of Zen thought sees the value in approaching everything like a beginner would something completely new.  He said “In the beginner’s mind there are many possibilities, in the expert’s mind there are few.”

So as I reset my priorities, I try to take this humble approach on everything I do.  It allows me to make mistakes and not halt my progress.. I merely stumble, and learn why.

Stick around.. This is going to to get really good.

Leave a Reply

