Little Things

When you’re in a bit of a funk, or surrounded with a dark fog, finding that first step to bring yourself back out is often challenging, if not wholly insurmountable.

It’s easy to overwhelm ourselves with a massive list that sets ourselves up for failure before we even begin. While it seems like an optimistic goal in the moment, it’s effectively sabotage.

What we need is the linchpin (Word of the day?) that starts the ball rolling.. We need a single habit that is simple and easy to execute.

Little things

For you it might be letting your dog out into the yard, turning on the coffee machine, or meditating. For me it’s sitting up the moment my eyes open, and stretching, getting the blood flowing, so that I don’t lie back down and procrastinate.

Then I follow it up with a number of other small habits, each taking less than 5-10 minutes. This process is known as stacking, and is much more effective for creative positive habits, as each builds on the success of the last.. and since each one is tremendously easy to accomplish, you feel great for finishing each one!

I like to further build on this process by ensuring that most of these rituals creates some small instance of joy or happiness. For example, making the bed; takes under a minute, but provides a welcoming environment for me to collapse into at the end of a hard day. I also fill a bottle with some slices of lemon and filtered water… This give me an excuse to be mindful each time I take a sip throughout the day, keeping me positive and healthy.

So what are your “little things”? What gets you up in the morning and puts you in a great mind frame? I’d love to hear from you!!

Leave a Reply

